Sign in / Join

Spain will not be seeded in the draw of the World Cup 2018

Ⓒ AFP – Jack Guez – | Israeli midfielder Marwan Kabha tries to close the pass to Spanish Isco in a qualifying match for the 2018 World Cup in Russia played on October 9, 2017 in Jerusalem

Spain, world champion in 2010 and European in 2008 and 2012, will not be seeded in the draw for the 2018 World Cup on December 1, according to FIFA’s October ranking published on Monday, taken as a reference.

In the draw, which will be held on December 1 at the Kremlin Conference Center in Moscow, the top seven in the FIFA and Russia standings will be in the first hype.

In addition to the host, the other heads of series are: Germany, Brazil, Portugal, Argentina, Belgium, Poland and France.

Nations such as Spain (8th), England (12th) and Uruguay (17th), already classified for the tournament, will be the main teams to avoid by the seed.

La Roja will be in the second hype, despite having climbed three positions with respect to the last FIFA list. It finished eighth with 1,218 points, to only 8 of France (1,226), the last one of the series heads.

In the draw, two nations from the same continental confederation will not be in the same group, not counting Europe, which can have a maximum of two representatives per group.

– European playoff –

Second in their qualifying group after Spain, Italy will be among the four seeded teams in the draw for the 2018 World Cup, alongside Switzerland, Croatia and Denmark, according to FIFA’s October ranking.

Each of these four seeded sides will play a round-robin tie in November with one of these teams: Northern Ireland, Sweden, Republic of Ireland and Greece.

The draw will be held on Tuesday in Zurich (12.00 GMT) and the player in charge of extracting the balls will be the former Spanish international Fernando Hierro.

The order of matches (which team plays first at home and then away) will also be drawn.

The last four European seats will be distributed between 9 and 14 November. Between 9 and 12 will be played back and between 12 and 14, the turns.

Thus will be completed the 13 nations of the Old Continent that will travel to the World Cup, not counting the host, Russia.

In addition to the European playoff, two intercontinental playoffs will be played; Honduras-Australia (10 and 15 November) and New Zealand-Peru (11 and 15 November).

The last three tickets from the Africa zone will be distributed in the last day of classification, between the 6 and the 10 of November.

Terms of service